11 2nd Ave N, Unit 103  |  Sauk Rapids, MN  56379  |  320.251.1971

About Our Company

Starpublication ownerswebphoto
Owners, from left: Mark Klaphake, Missy Traeger, Joyce Frericks, Natasha Barber, and Jeff Weyer.
  Star Publications LLC. is a publishing company that prides itself on bringing the word community back to the newspaper industry.
     Headquartered in Sauk Centre, Minn., Star Publications owns hometown newspapers – the Sauk Centre Herald, Albany Enterprise, Melrose Beacon, Sauk Rapids Herald and Benton County News – along with niche publications Dairy Star, Country Acres, Star Shopper and Benton Ag Plus.
     In addition to its newspapers, Star Publications offers print and web services as well as Sign Design. Sign Design produces and installs full color decals, signs and banners for multiple needs.
     The company is owned by a group of five partners born and raised in Minnesota. Mark Klaphake, Joyce Frericks, Jeff Weyer, Missy Traeger and Natasha Barber guide a group of roughly 50 employees based in five offices and homes across Minnesota and its surrounding states.
     Newspapers are the foundation of healthy communities, documenting the lives of people, businesses, events, schools and government agencies. The ink shows the lifeblood of each area on its pages.
     The belief at Star Publications is that each person has a story to tell, some have more than one. We’re here to tell yours. read more

Star Publications Newspapers

Sauk Rapids Herald:
Established 1854
Sauk Centre Herald:
Established 1867
Melrose Beacon:
Established 1890
The Albany Enterprise:
Established 1898
Benton County News:
Established 1932
Star Shopper:
Established 1972
Dairy Star:
Established February 1999
Country Acres:
Established January 2013
Benton Ag:
Established February 2016
Timeline

Meet Our Staff

Natasha headshot

Natasha Barber

Anna headshot

Anna Hinkemeyer

Staff Writer
anna@saukherald.com
Evan headshot

Evan Michealson

Staff Writer
evan.m@star-pub.com
Elizabeth headshot

Elizabeth Hoag

Time headshot

Tim Vos 

Marketing Consultant
Sauk Rapids
tim@saukherald.com
Warren headshot

Warren Stone

Marketing Consultant
St. Cloud
warren@star-pub.com
Kathy headshot

Kathy Breault

Marketing Consultant
Foley
kathy.b@star-pub.com
Robin headshot

Robin Burnell

Marketing Consultant
Classifieds
robin@saukherald.com
Mark headshot

Mark Klaphake

Operation Manager, Owner
mark.k@dairystar.com
Missy headshot

Missy Traeger

Sales Manager, Owner
missy@saukherald.com
Joyce headshot

Joyce Frericks

Accounts Manager, Owner
joyce@saukherald.com